Cash App launches $40 unlimited 5G phone plan

💡See how fintech giants are pivoting into utility services to increase user retention and ecosystem lock-in.
⚡ 30-Second TL;DR
What Changed
Offers unlimited 5G data, talk, and text
Why It Matters
This move signals Cash App's intent to become a comprehensive financial and utility super-app. It increases competition in the fintech-to-utility service expansion space.
What To Do Next
Monitor the Cash App API documentation for potential integration hooks if you are building fintech-adjacent mobile applications.
Key Points
- •Offers unlimited 5G data, talk, and text
- •Includes mobile hotspot functionality
- •Operates on the AT&T network infrastructure
🧠 Deep Insight
Background and context from public sources — not the original article. 20 sources cited.
🔑 Enhanced Key Takeaways
- •The Cash App Mobile plan is specifically designed for 'Modern Earners,' including young adults, underbanked consumers, and gig workers, aiming to integrate mobile service seamlessly with Cash App's existing financial tools.
- •Cash App Mobile is an MVNO (Mobile Virtual Network Operator) service powered by Gigs, a global leader in embedded connectivity, which also provides the infrastructure for similar mobile offerings from other fintech companies like Klarna and Sezzle.
- •The service is delivered exclusively via eSIM, requiring users to have an eSIM-compatible and carrier-unlocked mobile device for activation, eliminating the need for physical SIM cards or store visits.
- •Beyond unlimited 5G data, talk, and text, the plan includes unlimited HD streaming and a dedicated 10GB of monthly hotspot data, with international usage in Canada and Mexico also capped at 10GB of data and 1,000 combined minutes/texts per month.
- •Cash App intends to deepen the integration of its mobile service with its Cash App Green rewards program and Cash App Families features, potentially allowing users to earn Bitcoin rewards by paying their phone bills.
📊 Competitor Analysis▸ Show
Competitor Analysis: Cash App Mobile vs. Select MVNOs (2026)
| Feature/Carrier | Cash App Mobile | Visible+ (Verizon MVNO) | Mint Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO) | Metro by T-Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO) | Cricket Wireless Supreme Unlimited (AT&T MVNO) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (per month) | $40 (taxes & fees included) | $35 | ~$30 (prepaid annually) | $40 (single line) | $55 (with autopay) |
| Network | AT&T (5G Priority Data) | Verizon (faster 5G service) | T-Mobile | T-Mobile | AT&T |
| Unlimited Data | Yes (5G priority data) | Yes (unlimited high-speed data) | Yes (speeds reduced after ~35-40GB) | Yes (35GB high-speed cap) | Yes (unlimited) |
| Hotspot Data | 10GB/month | Unlimited (5-15Mbps speeds, 1 device) | Not specified for unlimited plan, typically limited | 8GB (for $50 plan) | 50GB |
| International Roaming | Canada & Mexico (10GB data, 1,000 min/texts combined) | Mexico & Canada (unlimited talk/text) | Not typically included, add-ons available | Not specified, typically add-ons | Not specified, typically add-ons |
| Contracts/Credit Check | No contracts, no credit checks | No contracts, no credit checks | No contracts, no credit checks | No contracts, no credit checks | No contracts, no credit checks |
| Unique Perks | Integrated with Cash App financial tools, potential Bitcoin rewards | Free smartwatch connectivity (Visible+ Pro) | Discount for annual prepayment | Not specified, often includes streaming perks | 150GB cloud storage, HBO Max (ad-supported) |
🛠️ Technical Deep Dive
- Cash App Mobile operates as a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO), leveraging the existing 5G network infrastructure of AT&T.
- The service utilizes '5G priority data' on AT&T's network, which aims to provide more consistent speeds even during periods of network congestion.
- Activation and service delivery are exclusively through eSIM technology, requiring users to have an eSIM-compatible and carrier-unlocked mobile device.
- Users can either transfer their existing phone number to Cash App Mobile or be assigned a new number during the enrollment process.
- Gigs Wireless LLC functions as the licensed mobile virtual network operator and carrier of record for Cash App Mobile.
- Cash App handles the in-app experience, billing, collections, marketing, and customer support, acting as Gigs' disclosed billing agent.
- The plan includes unlimited HD video streaming.
- Hotspot data is capped at 10GB per billing cycle, after which hotspot functionality ceases until the next cycle, though regular mobile data on the device remains unaffected.
🔮 Future ImplicationsAI analysis grounded in cited sources
⏳ Timeline
📎 Sources (20)
Factual claims are grounded in the sources below. Forward-looking analysis is AI-generated interpretation.
Weekly AI Recap
Read this week's curated digest of top AI events →
👉Related Updates
AI-curated news aggregator. All content rights belong to original publishers.
Original source: Digital Trends ↗
This is a summary, not the original. Read the source, or get the weekly briefing.
The weekly digest
One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime.